THE DAY MY SISTER CHANGED HER LAST NAME

IMG_9710When I was younger, the idea of my older sister getting married and moving out seemed like…well, the worst idea ever; and when it actually happened it was something hard to swallow.  I am very close to all my sisters, and  extremely similar and extremely different as only sisters can be. I knew that whenever she moved out, I’d  finally move into her room which I wanted so bad! infact for a while that was the only thing keeping me from feeling sad when I thought about her leaving. The thought of life without her around seemed not just terrible, but simply impossible. I couldn’t Imagine life without her around…… and the day finally came! first up her traditional wedding.

DSC_1059
I also Joined my little cousins in dancing to introduce the bride.
DSC_0898
TRADITIONAL CAKE

DSC_1075 DSC_1121 DSC_1097DSC_1217

DSC_1159
As she welcomed her HUSBAND into her fathers compound
DSC_1259
The igbo tradition

DSC_1407

When she was sixteen, she and my (now) brother-in-law started dating. When she was twenty six, he got down on one knee one beautiful evening on our trip to Lagos in December and asked her to be his wife. One year later, we all took that yearly december trip to Lagos, Nigeria and after all of my agonizing anticipation, the day finally arrived. I was a bridesmaid!!! another excitement that kept  away the thoughts of my sister leaving.  It was my very first time and I was so honored for it to be for my sisters wedding.  Her traditional wedding was beyond beautiful, I watched my sister marry the love of her life in my fathers first compound in Imo state Owerri; Dikenafia Village.  With a happy smile she carried her cup of palm wine and danced softly in search of her husband. It was such a happy day, never seen my dad smile all day but that day he was smiling from ear to ear.

DSC_1344
ASOEBI GIRLS!
DSC_1522
NOW SHE IS A DELTA IGBO WOMAN
DSC_1357
SISTERS – MISSING ONE!(AMAKA) DUE TO MED SCHOOL EXAMS
DSC_1500
THE COUPLE. MR AND MRS OKOLIE

I’m almost certain I cried more than anyone else after the church wedding, but the thing is — it wasn’t because I was sad. Yes, there was the pain that comes with waving good-bye to a good chapter in one’s life, but it was more tears of awwww look at my sister finally its happening for her; after over ten years relationship, long distance and all the other obstacles, it finally happened! they got married.

scg-47
BRIDESMAIDS
scg-52 (2)
ONE OF THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER
scg-37
I WAS A BRIDESMAID!
scg-36
WE ALL LOOKED LIKE GODDESS
scg-7
OUR GIFTS AS BRIDESMAIDS. JUICY COUTURE SETS

 

scg-63
BREATHTAKING
scg-71
HER HAPPY DAY

scg-59 (2)scg-81

The wedding planning phase was intense, and YES  my sister was a bridezilla lol, if she wants a particular thing it is in your best interest to get her that exact thing. Shout Out to her wedding planner she did a good job and did it gracefully.

scg-39
MY INLAWS
scg-32
SHARP
scg-267
SECON DRESS
scg-164a
GROOM AND GROOMS MEN
scg-175
FUN PHOTOSHOOT WE HAD
scg-149
TRUE LOVE
scg-51
LOOKING SHARP

scg-100 scg-151 scg-165 scg-184 scg-138scg-415scg-384scg-156scg-152scg-269

Since I was on the internal side on planning my sisters  wedding , I inevitably have a few ideas of do’s and don’ts  by default for my own wedding. Overall My sisters big day was everything and more, most beautiful bride till date. My sisters wedding was so much fun, I wont be able to upload all her pictuers but these are a few best moments for me personally. her full wedding album will be going to her wedding website.

scg-170bscg-177 (2) scg-186 (2) scg-227 scg-343 scg-318 scg-362 scg-336 scg-296 scg-297

I have also learned to be okay with the occasional sting of loneliness. I know that if I need one-on-one “sister time” I can just ask for it. Besides, some things never change. My sister would drop everything in a heartbeat if I need her. What more does a girl need?

photo (6)

scg-379b

 

XO

CHI-CHI OF NIGERIA

Leave a Reply

